Never skip a Monday {an inside look}

If there’s one thing I’ve learned the past few months, it’s to never skip a Monday workout. It gets harder to go later in the week if I don’t start out strong, because my own BS/excuses start creeping in. So, what does a training day look like for this gal? Here’s a look at what I do/eat on a typical day. This schedule is for when I workout in the middle of the day.

NUTRITION:

IMG_20150928_135457

  • Meal 1: Egg white omelet (4 whites) w/chicken & Frank’s Red Hot + 4 oz brown rice (as pictured above)
  • Meal 2: 2 slices of bread* (Sara Lee Delightful Oatmeal + 1 tbsp natural peanut butter)
  • Meal 3: Protein shake + pre-workout
  • Meal 4: Protein shake + 4 oz chicken + 4 oz sweet potato +veggies
  • Meal 5: 6 oz chicken + 1 cup broccoli

Protein choices vary between eggs, chicken breasts, thighs, tilapia, shrimp, salmon, and occasional red meat but I’m pretty dependent on my poultry products, as they are friendly on the budget 🙂

*P28 and Ezekiel bread are the best choices but I get the Sara Lee for taste and it gets used by people other than me in the household.

My daily nutrition tasks:

  1. Drink 1 gallon of water a day – I use my BlenderBottle all day for this purpose, drinking 20 oz while I make breakfast (with lemon if I have it) before I sit down for meal 1.
  2. Vitamins w/breakfast so I never forget – a daily multivitamin, calcium, fish oil for Omega 3s (healthy fats), and a couple of prenatal vitamin gummies (my fave! I save them for last)
  3. Eating small meals throughout the day, typically every 2-3 hours.
  4. Never be starving, but never be full 🙂

WORKOUT:

Cardio – STEPMILL. Forget the treadmill. You know that giant stairmaster thing that looks scary and you think you’d probably fall off of the second you try to get on it? That is your best friend. It’s the most efficient piece of cardio equipment that you will love and hate at the same time. We’re here for results right?

Lately I’ve been playing with HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) cardio, as opposed to steady state, to see how it affects my body and I’ve really been liking it. Why? Short answer: Marathon runners vs. Sprinters (see photo comparison). You get the point.

Anyways, I’ll do 20 minutes a day. 30 seconds on level 10 while skipping a step and doing some glute kickbacks. 30 seconds at 15, and 30 seconds at level 20, and repeat.

LIFTING SESSION:

Squats 4 Sets of 15

Deadlifts 4 sets of 8

Superset:  Bulgarian split-squats 4 sets 15 + goblet squats 4 sets 15

Superset: Leg extensions + lying leg curls 4 sets 15

Burnout: cable machine glute kickbacks 4 sets to failure each leg

Happy Leg Day!

^click on the link for my instagram video

IMG_20150928_133017

7 thoughts on “Never skip a Monday {an inside look}

  1. I feel the same way about long distance runners. I admire the determination and willpower it takes, but I honestly wouldn’t feel sexy with out some curves (muscly curves of course!) Your calves are beyond freakin awesome!! How often do you train your calves? Everyday? haha. And I love your shoes by the way!

    Like

    • Haha really though. Good for them but just not what we’re going for right?? I actually get the definition from the stepmill mostly, but other than that I work calf raises in on my second leg day (usually on Friday or Saturday). I’m not very creative. Do you have any calf exercises I should try? And thanks on the shoes! The hubby got them for mah birthday 🙂

      Like

      • Exactly! I have a cousin that will brag all day long about how she can run a full marathon no problem, blah, blah, but her body is so skinny and weak looking it is scary! I dread the stepmill more than anything else in the whole gym haha, but I suppose I should hope on it it because I want your calves! I don’t think that I would have any ideas that you don’t already know about. I just barely started following a training plan I found on Reddit so that I am not just wandering around guessing what exercise to do next. I will be changing the treadmill to the stepmill though haha. Happy Birthday by the way! It must be nice to have a husband that is supportive of your fitness goals.

        Like

      • Have you tried to find a plan on bodybuilding.com? It’s a free resource and you can choose a plan according to your goals (lean out, gain muscle, or transform). It even has nutrition plans also, they give you the full deal!

        Like

  2. I agree about the fantastic calves comment, Mirin! Can confirm that the stepmill is one of the most effective yet dreadful pieces of equipment on the gym floor.

    Like

Leave a comment